Aaron Summers

A Parent and Pastor

In Gospel Living, Parenting on October 27, 2016 at 8:15 am

parent-notes_featured

THE PARENT

Another parent and I were meeting with our youth intern to discuss students and what we as parents wanted from a youth ministry.  As I considered this, I began to write what I wanted for my 2 kids as they progressed through youth ministry.  The first flashes had to do with making friends, having fun, and being in safe spaces.  I pushed those out of my mind and began to think deeper.

What kind of follower of Christ do I want my kids to be when they leave home and go to college?

Wow.  College.  Weren’t they just born the other day?  He can’t be in HS already??  #only4yearsleft and #only6years left rang through my mind!  How is that he looks me eye to eye, fits in my clothes and has bigger feet?  Oh my gosh!  How is it that boys are staring at my baby girl?  Isn’t she too young for all of that?

Alas, and sadly, all of this is true!  What did I wish for them as teenagers?

  • I want them to love Jesus.
  • I want them to make decisions from a biblical view.
  • I want them to serve others inside and outside of church family.
  • I want them to go on a mission trip.
  • I want them to have a church family of all ages connected together.

This is probably not an exhaustive list but does encompass much of what I hope my kids achieve through the youth ministry.

THE PASTOR

Then it hit me.  These are the same things I want for my church!  As a pastor, I really want those to whom God has charged me to lead to achieve these same items.

  • I want them to love Jesus.
  • I want them to make decisions from a biblical view.
  • I want them to serve others inside and outside of the church family.
  • I want them to go on a mission trip.
  • I want them to have a church family of all ages connected together.

We get overly focused on so many things that really don’t matter.  We are concerned over who is in charge of whom.  We are concerned over protecting our spaces, ministries, and preferences.  We are concerned that someone is going to take over or not do their job.  We are concerned over why others aren’t doing things the right way.

How I want for us to move back to simplicity; move to the important.

As a parent, and a pastor, Jesus, take the wheel.  Please.

What would you add to this list?

Leave a Reply

