Aaron Summers

#selfies

In Uncategorized on May 11, 2015 at 6:40 am

 

selfie_21221691

I take them.  You take them.  We all take them.

We take them at parties.  We take them on the beach.  We take them at gatherings.  We take them in front of the mirror.  We put them on Instagram.  We wait for comments.  What do selfies tell us about ourselves?  Often, I find people who are in need of approval.  They are hoping someone will comment and tell them they are beautiful, or wonderful, or courageous, or that they made a great choice on their hair, makeup, attire, car, house, or pet purchase.  Why do we need approval?  Most of us are not being built up, encourage, and enabled to be strong and courageous.  We are being ridiculed, torn down, and destroyed by a culture that is selfish rather than selfless as Jesus address.  Our #MCM, #TBT and #FBF are all designed for us to post something that is already accepted or we have already decided upon and are confident.  Our daily selfies tend to be like the girl who could not decide on a prom dress and wanted Facebook to decide.  Only 13% of American women consider themselves pretty and only 28% of men think of themselves as handsome.  94% of men and 99% of women would change something about themselves.

Thank you media outlets.  Thank you.

God has a different view as the Psalmist writes,

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb.  Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it. You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb. You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.
 
How precious are your thoughts about me, O God. They cannot be numbered! I can’t even count them; they outnumber the grains of sand! And when I wake up, you are still with me!
Listen, I have no problem with taking #selfies.  If someone doesn’t think you’re cool or beautiful does not mean anything. God is happy with how he made you and will stick by you even when you don’t feel pretty or useful.  Take all the #selfies you want and post them just don’t let the comments define you.

Leave a Reply

