Aaron Summers

Why is God so Hard to Accept?

In Faith on July 29, 2014 at 8:54 am

la-ley-del-karma

 

Do you believe in things you cannot see?  Consider the following:

  • Aliens
  • Ghosts
  • Astrology
  • Loch Ness or Big Foot
  • Karma
  • Intuition
  • Fate

In our information hungry age, it amazes me that people will render God untenable in which to believe, but any of these mentioned above are readily accepted.  What makes God so hard to accept?

UNSEEN

No one can see Karma either but a host of people accept that as truth. I have not seen Aliens, ghost, or Big Foot and do not believe they exist.  I have not seen God either.  What makes the difference?  Some could say that I believe because I was nurtured into it.  Had I been raised by those who chase after UFO’s and ghosts would I believe in them instead?  I cannot see the wind but I have felt the effects of wind.  I have not seen God but have experienced the effects.  I know what life was like before and after I chose to place faith in Jesus.

JUDGEMENT

People wish to argue that a God who will judge them is not for them. However, their belief in Karma surprises me.  Karma, and Fate, are on the spot judges.  If you do wrong the universe will do wrong back to you.  If you do right, then the universe will do right back to you.  Aren’t you being judged?  What if your action was an unfortunate one and Karma gives back unfairly?  Will you stop believing in it then?  Every alien movie I have seen moves to the same concept: they destroy humanity.  They judge us unworthy and wish to remove us.  Why, then is it too difficult to accept the judgment of God?

UNFAIR

How can a good God allow evil? How can there be only one way to God, which is through faith in Jesus Christ?  I could ask, what if Karma is unfair?  What happens when the aliens and ghosts wish to take over and it becomes believe or die?  Aren’t those unfair also?  Yet, many still believe.  The notion that God is unfair is widely heard.  However, I would argue that the evil is our own doing.  We choose poorly.  We choose the stupid.  We choose the bad.  We follow the evil and love the dark.  God has provided a way out of your situation.  He will not force you.  I suppose that people can accept the alien slavery because they are forcing us into something.  God has freely provided a path to life.  He also gives you the freedom to choose that path….or not.

UNPROVEN

The favorite of many is that I cannot prove God so I cannot believe in God.  However, dimly lit sightings and questionable video techniques are enough for people.  Acceptance that there experience with Karma and Fate are enough falls flat when you consider the history and testimony of millions who talk about God.

When it is all said and done we want to master of our own universe.  We like Karma and Fate because we feel empowered and in control.  We want to fight authority, shrug off guilt, and live accordingly.  We want to believe there is nothing beyond this life so that we can live it up and push away the shame of irresponsibility.  The problem is…God still exists.

Then Jesus told him, “You believe because you have seen me. Blessed are those who believe without seeing me.”  John 20:29

Leave a Reply

