Aaron Summers

What the Flu and Stomach Bug Teaches Me

In Life and Culture, Suffering on January 29, 2014 at 9:26 am

flu

I haven’t blogged in a couple of days, and might not make it through this one either, because I have been sick.  I hate being sick, but no one likes it.  The problem is I got the shot!  Because I rarely do get sick, or at least admit that I am, it seems to hit harder when it happens.  While I have been in and out of sleep and the bathroom for 2 days, a few things came to mind.

Bad things happen no matter what you do.  I exercise and, for the most part, eat right.  I wash my hands. I avoid the personal space of those who are sick.  In other words, I do all I can do avoid getting sick and yet sometimes it just happens.  No matter how hard you work to avoid bad things, sometimes they just do.

Choose the most important first.  During times of sickness a lot of sleep is involved.  With low energy, there are only a few things that can be done each day.  We must choose what will be done. What is most important?  I barely opened my eyes one day, so I laid there and just prayed.  I could pray.  In times of difficulty, we must isolate the critical and do that first.  If there is time and energy to do other things then add them later.

Our bodies are frail.  It is fascinating to me that a small rise in temperature can cause so many problems!  A virus so small can wreak havoc in our bodies quickly.  Because of this, our dependence of God rises quickly. We realize that we may be Superman to our kids, but can easily be turned into lumps lying in the bed!

It is about time for me to lie back down and drool myself to sleep.  Let me close with this from Psalm 90.

Teach us to realize the brevity of life, so that we may grow in wisdom. O Lord , come back to us! How long will you delay? Take pity on your servants! Satisfy us each morning with your unfailing love, so we may sing for joy to the end of our lives.

Leave a Reply

