Aaron Summers

My Dad Can Beat Up Your Dad

In Journey on January 6, 2014 at 9:43 am

Old boxing gloves

I am sure you have seen the bumper stickers.

  • “My kid can beat up your honor student.”
  • “My hockey mom can beat up your soccer mom.”
  • “My SUV can beat up your Prius.”
  • “My bumper sticker can beat up your ribbon.”

All of these seem to hail from a childhood (mostly boys) issue with measuring up.  It never fails that boys on a playground, court, field, or sandbox never fail to compare and challenge each other.  Invariably it ends with my brother/dad/grampa can beat up your brother/dad/grampa.

Riding for My Life

I remember one such day when the arguing and bickering started.  I mouthed off once too much and had to make a run for it.  I jumped on my bike and pedaled as fast as I could toward home.  As I rode away and noticed the group gaining on me I supposed I would die that day.  We were at the front of the complex and my house was at the back.  I prayed that Dad would still be in the yard.  I could hear the threats and feel the spit being spewed in my direction as I rounded the last corner!  I rode straight into the yard and parked right behind my Dad.  Though I know he knew what happened, he just stood there and asked the boys if they needed something.  After a little grumbling, they rode away.  It wasn’t that I needed my Dad to beat anyone up, I needed the security and sanctuary.

“I give them eternal life, and they will never perish. No one can snatch them away from me, for my Father has given them to me, and he is more powerful than anyone else.  No one can snatch them from the Father’s hand. The Father and I are one.”

John 5: 28-30

Being Vulnerable

There are times when we get ourselves in hot water and need sanctuary. We all have made stupid choices that ended badly.  Maybe it was a date or sexual encounter.  Maybe it was a bad investment or lousy purchase.  Maybe it was a look, word, or reaction.  Let’s be honest.  We have all been there.  In those moments we need sanctuary.  We need peace, rest, and encouragement.  We will get the lesson learned, but right then no words are necessary.  The presence of someone who is bigger, better, and brighter is needed.

There are those moments when we are vulnerable and need security. I find that after extreme emotional experiences people are very vulnerable.  Whether extreme joy or sadness, we find ourselves vulnerable.  On the high side we can be full of ourselves only to watch it all fall.  On the low side we can be so empty we have nothing left to give.  Whether tragedy or joy, we have moments of vulnerability.  At that time, we need security.  We need someone who can have our back, be our broker, or be our bouncer.  We need someone to fight for us when we can do it ourselves.

The Ultimate Statement

Jesus makes the ultimate statement.  In essence, He says that His Dad can win in any situation.  Where are you finding your sanctuary?  Where do you find your security?  I suggest looking to the One who can provide better than anyone.

 

 

Leave a Reply

