Aaron Summers

You Can’t Spell QUIT without U and I

In Commitment on November 11, 2013 at 8:51 am

Quit_

I confess.  I have become a fan of Duck Dynasty.  I don’t know how much of that show is scripted, staged, re-enacted, or live but I enjoy it anyway!  One of the favorite sayings of Uncle Si is that you cant spell something without Si.

  • You can’t spell squirrel with Si….
  • You can’t spell strike with Si…
  • You can’t spell stupid with Si…

Here is one for you today:  You can’t spell quit without U and I.  Whenever someone wants to quit they make it about themselves.

  • I can’t
  • I won’t
  • I am too old
  • I am not qualified
  • I am not ready

All of these statements are centered around U and I.  Funny how those two letters are right in the middle of QUIT.  When we focus on our problems, our needs, our issues, and our desires then we will choose to quit.

We quit school.
We quit our family.
We quit our jobs.
We quit our marriages.
We quit tithing.
We quit serving.
We quit attending.
We quit praying.
We quit. reading.

We quit.

The gifts, talents, and abilities you have been given by God are for one task: make disciples of all the nations.  When that is our goal then the focus shifts off of U and I and to God and others.  In the practice of using your gifts and talents we give glory to God and encouragement to others.  There is no quitting for any reason.  There is adjustments that will be made as we mature.  There are adjustments that are made as circumstances and life change us.  Yet, we don’t quit.

4Now there are varieties of gifts, but the same Spirit; 5and there are varieties of service, but the same Lord; 6and there are varieties of activities, but it is the same God who empowers them all in everyone. 7To each is given the manifestation of the Spirit for the common good. 8For to one is given through the Spirit the utterance of wisdom, and to another the utterance of knowledge according to the same Spirit, 9to another faith by the same Spirit, to another gifts of healing by the one Spirit, 10to another the working of miracles, to another prophecy, to another the ability to distinguish between spirits, to another various kinds of tongues, to another the interpretation of tongues. 11All these are empowered by one and the same Spirit, who apportions to each one individually as he wills.

1 Corinthians 12:4-11

  1. Found something in Revelation which is appropriate.  Rev 22:10 ff  “ …the time is near.  Let him who does wrong continue to do wrong; let him who is vile continue to be vile; let him who does right continue to do right; and let him who is holy continue to be holy.”
    Quitting is not an option to true Christ followers.  For us there is a difference between being fatalistic (quitters) and trusting (God’s people).
    Fatalistic is believing what will be will be and there is nothing you can do so quit trying.
    Trusting is knowing God is in control and has my future in His hands.  He will only allow things to happen which are for my good and His glory.  I can’t do everything, but I can wait in trust and allow God to be God which only He can do.
     
    These thoughts and the scripture taken together takes a burden off of my shoulders.  Why should I worry about tornadoes, Obamacare, gas prices, etc.  God is in control and He will see me thru to the end.

Leave a Reply

