Aaron Summers

The Night the Wipers Died

In Life and Culture on November 6, 2013 at 12:00 pm

wipersquit

 

A few days ago I noticed my wipers quit.  I tried everything and checked the fuses but they would not work.  I don’t drive this vehicle all that often so I did not worry too much about it.  Yesterday I got in the truck and it was drizzling a little.  Instinctively I turned on the wipers and they worked.  I praised the Lord all the way to town!  After the meeting I was in town for, I got back in the truck and started home.  As they rain increased heavily, I turned on the wipers.

No wipers.

I was on a dark highway in heavy rain with no wipers that worked.  I slowed way down and could make out the side of the road a little.  Two cars were coming from the other direction and this only complicated matters.  At this speed, I thought about someone coming up from behind so I turned on the hazard blinkers.  I eventually made it to the turn onto my rock road when I paused to take this picture.  As you can see, or not see, everything was blurry.

When we quit confession before God and repentance before man our lives become blurry.  Confession and repentance act like wipers for our souls.  Look at what the Psalmist penned,

Blessed is the one whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered.  Blessed is the man against whom the  Lord  counts no iniquity, and in whose spirit there is no deceit.  For when I kept silent, my bones wasted away through my groaning all day long.  For day and night your hand was heavy upon me; my strength was dried up as by the heat of summer.  I acknowledged my sin to you, and I did not cover my iniquity; I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the  Lord ,” and you forgave the iniquity of my sin.

For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his steadfast love toward those who fear him;    as far as the east is from the west, so far does he remove our transgressions from us.

Just like the windshield became blurry and the road them difficult to navigate, so do our lives when we quit confession and repentance.

When we quit obedience before God our lives become blurry.

Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of scoffers;  but his delight is in the law of the  Lord , and on his law he meditates day and night.

There is great blessing for the obedient like a clean and clear windshield when driving.  When we become rebellious our lives become difficult.  Fear will rise.  Anxiety will rise.  You will not be able to see where you are going.  You cannot anticipate because you cannot see that far ahead.

I need to get my wipers fixed on my truck.  I also need to make sure my spiritual wipers work too.  Do yours?

 

Leave a Reply

