Aaron Summers

Do As I Say AND As I Do

In Chrisian Life on September 20, 2013 at 7:53 am

doasisay

The moment when my children began to imitate the things I did and say the things I said was fascinating.  On the one hand, it was flattering to see the little monkeys imitate.  On the other hand, hearing some phrases took on a different spin coming out of toddler’s mouths!  I am not a vulgar person, nor do I use coarse language.  However, I do have those phrases such as Tim Hawkins uses in this video.

Most parents use the phrase as some point “Do as I say, not as I do.”  We use this to cover up our shame over our behavior.  The problem is that children quickly follow the approach of Andrew Carnegie in the quote above very early in life.  In fact, it is widely held that each generation is more likely to follow our behavior than our words!  In essence, it has less to do with what I tell them and more to do with what I show them.  Jesus did this.  He certainly told us to do a lot.  However, he backed it up with what He did.

“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.  On that day many will say to me, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not  prophesy in your name, and cast out demons  in your name, and do many mighty works in your name?’  And then will I declare to them, ‘I  never knew you;  depart from me, you workers of lawlessness.’

Jesus is not as interested in what you say as what you do.  In fact, what you do is suspect at times too.  These people regularly put His quotes on their Facebook and Twitter accounts.  These people regularly wore their Christians shirts (under the robes of course!) and wristbands.  These people regularly attended church (Temple).  These people would help others and everyone knew it.  Certainly, people who do all that are doing the Will of God, right?

Jesus said that all of those public deeds done were useless outside of the will of God.

The Will of God does not begin with right actions or right religion.  The Will of God begins with a right relationship.  Once established, we develop that relationship and go where God takes us.

 

Leave a Reply

