Aaron Summers

Treasure Map

In Chrisian Life, Direction, Journey on July 22, 2013 at 7:03 am

york-pirate-treasure-map-brown-wallpaper-2

I was handed a note the other day that had on it a number and a statement.  It appeared that this one the first of several clues to some “hidden treasure”.  Being taken by the hand, I was led outside to find the next clue.  I walked around the entire front and back yards searching for clues that led to other clues.  I thought Nicolas Cage couldn’t be far away!  Clue after clue came and went and 30 minutes later I found the last clue and treasure.  Had I chosen to ignore I would have missed the joy of the treasure in the end.  I knew the kids had worked hard putting it all together.  Even though I didn’t really want to go through the process, I did it anyway.  I tried to “cheat” the system and think ahead to see if I could skip clues and get to the treasure.  Isn’t that how we are with God and His wisdom?

if you seek it like silver and search for it like hidden treasure,
then you will understand the • fear of the Lord and discover the knowledge of God.
For the Lord gives wisdom; from His mouth come knowledge and understanding.

Proverbs 2:4-6

Sometimes I don’t like to do the work.  The Bible says that if we seek it then we will find the knowledge of God.  That knowledge provides the answers to the questions you  have.  However, if we never seek for it how can it be found?  If I don’t do the work, then I don’t get the reward.

Sometimes I try to cheat the system.  I know many who try to do this.  Some just go to church while others do not do that much.  Some simply say they believe and post nice trite sayings and images on social media.  Some read in order to stay up with the church folks.  However, when the storms rise on the seas of life, we feel lost, alone, and scared.  Trying to cheat the system does not give us the wisdom and knowledge we need to navigate through the narrow passes and heavy seas.

When I go through the motions I miss the joy.  One time my kids gave me a map and I just ran through it trying to be done.  I missed the joy of the journey with them.  We do this with God also.  We try to rush through Bible reading, give a 2 second prayer at dinner, and hardly pause from social media in church to hear what is going on.  We stay up to late on Saturday’s and run late or skip on Sundays.  We sit there half asleep and wishing we were somewhere else.  We go through the motions and wonder why we do not know how to handle situations we face.  Without God’s wisdom and knowledge we are filled with fear and anxiety.  We deal with regrets because we failed to make the right choices at the right time for the right reasons.

Settle in and enjoy the process.  This is by far the most rewarding.  Look at what God says for those who settle in and work the map.

Then you will understand righteousness, justice, and integrity
—every good path. 10 For wisdom will enter your mind, and knowledge will delight your heart.
11 Discretion will watch over you, and understanding will guard you, 12 rescuing you from the way of evil—

Leave a Reply

