Aaron Summers

Everyday Superheros

In behavior, Decisions, Jesus on September 20, 2012 at 9:41 am

Do you remember Underoos?  Which superhero was your favorite?  I had Superman and Spiderman.  As a child, you thought about being that superhero.  Did it save you from Ed the bully?  No, but you sure felt confident before leaving the house.  There were enough options you could be a superhero everyday if you wanted.

I have some great news for you…being a superhero everyday is still possible!!

You, like me, probably feel like unlikely candidates for such honor.  Yet, there is a source of unlimited power that waits to flow through you.  Thankfully, this does not involve special underwear.  It involves a very special relationship.  There is a family willing to adopt you and give to you the source of unlimited power to carry out unimaginable tasks.  Cool, right? Interested?

When Moses stood before God, he wondered whom he would say sent him to the Israelites in Egypt.  God replied, “I AM”.  God has always existed.  Always.  That’s a long time for us to fathom.  In fact, we cannot really understand forever.  It is just the left pointing arrow on the timeline that goes off into space….not to Middle Earth.  That left arrow goes into the infinite, where God was and is and will be.

God is.

He has presented Himself to us in three forms to help us wrap our minds around his greatness.  He has been God the Father through the Old Testament.  He still is God the Father, but His expression of this form was greater in the OT.  God the Son, Jesus Christ, helped us understand the great lengths to which He would go to provide a pathway back to Himself.  Through Jesus Christ we can be adopted into the family.  Jesus’ death paid for our sin.  Jesus’ resurrection provides hope for a future after physical death.  God the Spirit, the Holy Spirit, is currently the form He engages humanity with today.

In the Gospel of John, Jesus refers to Himself 7 times using the words “I am”

I am the bread of life. John 6:35
I am the light of the world. John 8.12
I am the door. John 10:7
I am the good shepherd. John 10:11
I am the resurrection and the life. John 11:25
I am the way, the truth, and the life. John 14:6
I am the vine. John 15:1

God used a verb of being and presence with Moses.  Jesus used a similar phrase in the first century.  He even went a step further and said He and God were one in John 8:24, 28.  Jesus is God!  He is the Great I Am.  The One who would come after is of the same essence.  The Spirit is God also.  When, by faith you turn your life over to God, you receive forgiveness, hope, and the Spirit.  The Holy Spirit inhabits your soul.  The Great I Am resides in your life.

The One who resides past the left arrow having unlimited power has chosen to house Himself within you.  Listen to how Paul explains this new state.

19 For through the law I have died to the law, so that I might live for God. I have been crucified with Christ 20 and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.

Galatians 2:20

Because of Christ we can be everyday superheros.  We can accomplish tasks never before imagined.  For those receiving this love, help, and hope will be ready to hear how they can be adopted into this superhero group.  Look what Jesus had to say on this service matter.

34 Then the King will say to those on His right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world.

35 For I was hungry
and you gave Me something to eat;
I was thirsty
and you gave Me something to drink;
I was a stranger and you took Me in;

36 I was naked and you clothed Me;
I was sick and you took care of Me;
I was in prison and you visited Me.’
37 “Then the righteous will answer Him, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You something to drink? 38 When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or without clothes and clothe You?

39 When did we see You sick, or in prison, and visit You?’
40 “And the King will answer them, ‘I assure you: Whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of Mine, you did for Me.’

Matthew 25

Being an everyday superhero is not about your underwear, but your innerwear.  Are you clothed with the righteousness of Christ so that you can be sealed with the promise of the Spirit creating an everyday superhero?

Be that hero today.

  1. […] Live it – Following Christ is like fulfilling the dream you never thought was possible. […]

Leave a Reply

