Aaron Summers

Unfaithfully

In Commitment, Faithfulness, holiness, Numbers on February 27, 2011 at 10:47 pm

One of the most played songs at dances, proms, and other lover-central gatherings is the song “Faithfully” by Journey.  The song describes the issues surrounding a marriage and family with the husband on tour as a musician.  He reminds her that he will be forever hers faithfully.  This power ballad has been sung and danced to for years since it flew up the charts in 1983.  I confess that this is one of those songs that gets turned up and sung with in our vehicles event today, which drives the kids nuts!  Faithfulness is such a hot topic these days.  It seems that being faithful is so difficult and is often exchanged for one-night stands, open marriages, and key clubs.  A recently released movie, “Hall Pass”  focuses completely on giving a husband a 7 day pass from his marriage to do what he wants and providing the allowance of unfaithfulness.

As we read through Numbers, Moses is given an interesting statement by the Lord to relay to the people.

5 The Lord spoke to Moses: 6 “Tell the Israelites: When a man or woman commits any sin against another, that person acts unfaithfully toward the Lord and is guilty.

Numbers 5

Read that again.  Whenever I sin against another person, I am sinning against the Lord.  This would explain what David meant when he said,

2 Wash away my guilt
and cleanse me from my sin.
3 For I am conscious of my rebellion,
and my sin is always before me.
4 Against You-You alone-I have sinned
and done this evil in Your sight.
So You are right when You pass sentence;
You are blameless when You judge.

Psalm 51

Let’s not disregard the impact our sin has on each other.  However, each and every sin is a moment of unfaithfulness to God.  In other words, spiritual adultery is what is being implied.  God establishes a relationship with the Israelites more than a religion for the Israelites.  God, from the very beginning has wanted a relationship with humanity.  It began with Adam, then Eve, in the Garden.  God reconnected through Noah, Abraham, and Moses.  God wanted the nation to know that every act of sin was an act of unfaithfulness toward YHWH.

How often do we consider this?

Our common belief is that whatever we do is only done in the physical realm.  If I lie, then I lie to a person.  If I seek revenge, then I do so to a person.  If I have sexual relations outside of marriage, then I do so as a pleasure and with a person.  If I cheat, steal, murder, or the like, then I do so to a person.  If I disrespect my parents, then it is just between me and them.  But this scripture teaches is that God is involved in everything.  That lie was to God.  That stolen item was from God.  That reputation killer rumor was done to God.  That one-night stand was done against God.  That open marriage involves God.  Those sites you view late at night are done against God too.

Whether you seek forgiveness because of a changed heart or because your sponsor told you to do so, you  must also include God.  It is not enough, universally, for you to receive forgiveness and acceptance from those whom you have harmed.  If we do not seek restitution with God we fall short.  We can mask our need with agnosticism and atheism, but the hole is still in our hearts.  A hole that can only be filled with God Himself.

So God chooses to connect with humanity one more time.  Jesus Christ, the Son of God, is this connection. His life was lived in purity.  His death was done as our penalty.  His resurrection for our peace.  By faith we believe and by grace we receive the greatest gift – forgiveness.  Our hope is found in nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.

Leave a Reply

