Aaron Summers

Carpe Diem

In Control, Leviticus, Trust on February 19, 2011 at 9:15 am
Dead Poets Society

Image via Wikipedia

Several years ago Dead Poets Society engaged many viewers.  Though not a new statement, “Carpe Diem” became popular again.  Every one of us went around using that on posters, in speeches, to the lunch ladies….  Seize the day!  Take advantage of every moment.  Why should we waste precious time trying to fix or change that which cannot: the past?  Why should we worry over things that are yet to be that we have not control over: the future?  Let us seize the day.

1 Then the Lord said to Moses, 2 “Give the following instructions to the people of Israel. I am the Lord your God. 3 So do not act like the people in Egypt, where you used to live, or like the people of Canaan, where I am taking you. You must not imitate their way of life. 4 You must obey all my regulations and be careful to obey my decrees, for I am the Lord your God. 5 If you obey my decrees and my regulations, you will find life through them. I am the Lord.

Leviticus 18:1-5

Countless people lose sleep and years of life trying to get back to an earlier time of life when things were seemingly more serene and special.  You know them as “the good old days”.  We all have them.  For some it is the post-war abundance and joy.  For others it was the free love and Woodstock.  For me, the 80’s encompassed what is the good old days.  I think it has something to do with our teenage years.  Those years when all is wrong and yet everything is right;  when every bump is a mountain to climb and every mountain is the hill worth dying on the for principle of the matter.  We look back.  We yearn for the innocence when we did not understand bills and babies, and insurance and insufficient funds.  We wish to embrace the days of puppy love and passionate kisses.

Unfortunately, those days are gone.  The Lord expresses to us through this scripture that we are not to look back to Egypt and fall back into unhealthy patterns.  In addition, we are not to look forward to the Canaanites and engage in defiance and rebellion.  How man of us obsess over the weather?  The Weather Channel for tv, web, and app has created an obsession for me I never knew.  During a cold snap recently, I found myself looking at the weather often.  Who did I think I was?  Can I change the weather?  If I look one more time will it suddenly give me a portal into the cosmic weather station and allow adjustments?  Of course not.  However, that would be COOL! We cannot change anything about tomorrow.

We do have the ability and responsibility for today.  Carpe Diem.  Take hold of God today while you can.  We cannot change yesterday and God still loves you.  You cannot determine tomorrow so let God handle it.  Your effect comes right now.  Choose God.  Trust and obey for there is no other way to be happy in Jesus!

Carpe Diem!

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Alltop Facebook, Aaron Summers. Aaron Summers said: Carpe Diem http://wp.me/p1lCAd-2r […]

Leave a Reply

